События

События

1918

The collection covers key events of 1918: from the convocation and dissolution of the Constituent Assembly to the seizure of power by A. V. Kolchak in Omsk, the annulment of the Treaty of Brest-Litovsk after the beginning of the revolution in Germany and the signing of the Compiègne Armistice, which ended the fighting during the World War I. The material is presented in thematic sections arranged in chronological order. The collection includes archival materials, research documents, sources of personal origin, photographs, postcards and newsreels.

1917

In the year of the 100th anniversary of the revolution, the Presidential Library presents a special collection dedicated to the main events of 1917. It includes the archival materials, research works, sources of personal origin, printed press, and such illustrative sources as the photographs, postcards, maps, flyers and newsreels courtesy of Russian archives, libraries, museums and scientific centers.

At the Origins of the Russian Statehood

In 2012 Russia is celebrating the 1150th anniversary of birth of the Russian statehood. The collection devoted to the event includes the materials disclosing both the issues of formation and development of the Old Russian state and the history of the holiday itself.

Overcoming the Time of Troubles in Russia

At the turn of the 16th – 17th centuries in Russia there was a difficult internal and foreign political situation. Dynastic crisis caused by the death of the last of Rurikids; famine brought on by a succession of lean years, peasant uprisings; the Polish-Swedish intervention - all this has led to a civil war, questioning the very existence of the Russian state. Only the union of large popular forces – urban population, military men, free peasantry - helped preserve the independence of the country, restore the administrative and military systems and overcome the Troubles.

Patriotic War of 1812

The 200th anniversary of one of the most momentous events of the Russian history – the Patriotic War of 1812 - was celebrated in 2012. “The 1812 Thunder” left a deep imprint on the memories of contemporaries and descendants, affecting all spheres of life of our country. Alexander Herzen once highlighted “it is the year of 1812 that genuinely reveals the real Russian history; everything before that was just a preface.” The collection that commemorates the event comprises a wide variety of materials which spotlight the history of the Patriotic War of 1812 in all its diversity.

Decembrists in the History of Russia

The year of 2015 marks the 190th anniversary of the Decembrist revolt on the Senate Square in St. Petersburg. In memory of the event the Presidential Library has prepared a thematic collection "Decembrists in Russia's history".

The Alexander Column

The Alexander Column - the highest column in the world made of solid stone - was installed in the center of the Palace Square in St. Petersburg in 1834 designed by the architect Montferrand. The collection timed to the jubilee includes memories of the celebration event on August 30 (September 11), 1834, descriptions and images of the monument in different historical periods.

The Emancipation Reform of 1861

February 19 (March 3 new style), 1861 Emperor Alexander II signed the ‘Manifesto on the Imperial donation of rights of free villagers to serfs’ and the ‘General Regulations on peasants emancipated from serfdom.’ As a result, over 20 million serfs gained freedom. The collection, covering this event includes editions which reflect the history of peasant question in Russia, elaboration and implementation of the Emancipation Reform, personalities of reformers, as well as essential legislative documents of the reform, memoirs of contemporaries and journalistic works on the peasant question.

The Judicial Reform of 1864

To celebrate the 150th anniversary of the judicial reform, which was intended to provide a fast, fair and merciful justice to all Russian citizens, the Presidential Library makes available to a comprehensive collection of sources on the history of elaboration and introduction of the legislative reform in the Russian Empire, which were previously almost inaccessible.

Russian naval expedition to the shores of North America (1863-1864)

The set of documents covering the campaign of 1860s of two Russian cruiser squadrons under the command of Rear-Admirals S. S. Lesovsky and A. A. Popov to the shores of the United States, includes some articles and reviews published in the national press from the time when the event took place to the present, as well as an essay published by the US Naval historical Foundation.

Russian-Japanese War of 1904-1905

A series of turbulent events of the 20th century began for Russia from a war far in the east. Japan, which unleashed the war, blockaded and besieged Port Arthur, the main base of Russian naval forces in the Pacific. The defense and the subsequent surrender of the fortress became a tragic symbol of the war. Military setbacks, the largest of which were the overland Battle of Mukden and the Tsushima Naval Battle, the name of which became common, were one of the causes of the revolution of 1905-1907 forcing the Russian part to agree to a compromise and sign a peace treaty. The local war turned for Russia into the loss of the entire Navy and the loss of strategic positions in the Far East.

The World War I (1914-1918)

The year of 2014 marks the centennial of the World War I - a new type of war, which had acquired the features that later were common for the armed conflicts of the 20th century. These are: inseparability of the rear from the front, the total mobilization of the economics for military needs, information warfare on a national scale. Land battles enriched the science of war with tactics of tank attacks. At the sea was first deployed a submarine warfare, with attacks against civilian ships. In fact, during the war a new kind of armed forces developed – the air force, which became a full-fledged means of warfare. The Russian Empire in that war was part of the military and political alliance with France and Britain, which opposed the central powers - Germany and Austria-Hungary.

The Memory of the Great Victory

The Great Patriotic War (1941-1945) is part of the World War II (1939-1945) and one of the key events in Russian and world history of the 20th century. Joint efforts of the Soviet Union and the anti-Hitler coalition enabled to overcome the offensive of fascism. The collection commemorating the great victory includes first-hand accounts of veterans of the World War II and the Great Patriotic War, responses to the war of their great grandchildren, research works and archival materials, photographs and documentary newsreels, war-time newspapers and propaganda editions, songs and music of the war years.

The House of Romanov. The Zemsky Sobor of 1613

The collection includes about 900 items. These are official documents, memoirs, diaries, business and personal correspondence, newsreels, photos and paintings, audio records of radio programs, popular science films, historical studies, bibliography and more. Materials of the collection are brought together in thematic sections provided with brief summaries. Inside the section, the documents are grouped by biographical principle and arranged in chronological order - from birth to death of a person. In cases of a large number of documents, different headings are used, such as sources, studies and materials, childhood, coronation, travels, death, portraits and so on.

1945: From the War to the Post-War World

1945 was a watershed in the 20th century history: the end of the World War II marked the beginning of political, military, strategic, economic and ideological changes that have led to a new world order. The collection, which tells about the events of that period, includes studies, archival materials, newspaper and magazine chronicle, photos and cartoons (117 units in total).

Soviet-Japanese War of 1945

The war between the Soviet Union and Japan completed the major conflict of the 20th century - the World War II. In accordance with the agreements reached at the Yalta Conference, the Soviet Union entered the war against Japan in August 1945. Less than in a month, the Japanese Kwantung Army in Manchuria was defeated by decisive attacks of the Soviet troops. Signing of the Japanese Instrument of Surrender on September 2, 1945 marked the end of the World War II. The collection on the Soviet-Japanese War includes research works, essays, articles, newspapers and magazines, as well as caricatures (total of 76 units).

События

События

1917 год

В год 100-летия Революции 1917 года Президентская библиотека реализует проект, посвященный этой памятной дате. В течение 2017 года на портале будут публиковаться подборки документов, последовательно раскрывающие ход событий. В конце года по материалам этих подборок будет подготовлена специальная коллекция. В тематические подборки будут включаться документы различных типов и видов – книги, периодические издания, фотографии, листовки, кинохроника и др. Основной массив составят материалы из Российского государственного исторического архива и Государственного архива Российской Федерации.

У истоков российской государственности

В 2012 году в России отмечается 1150-летний юбилей зарождения российской государственности. В коллекцию, посвящённую этому событию, включены материалы, отражающие как вопросы образования и развития Древнерусского государства, так и историю самого праздника.

Преодоление Смуты на Руси

На рубеже XVI-XVII вв. в России сложилась сложная внутри- и внешнеполитическая ситуация. Династический кризис, вызванный смертью последнего представителя рода Рюриковичей, голод, ставший следствием череды неурожайных лет, крестьянские восстания, польско-шведская интервенция – всё это привело к гражданской войне, поставившей под сомнение само существование русского государства. Только объединение широких народных сил – городского населения, служилых людей, свободного крестьянства – позволило сохранить независимость страны, восстановить административную и военную системы и преодолеть Смуту. В коллекцию, посвящённую этому историческому периоду, вошли разнообразные документы и материалы, отражающие состояние Московского государства накануне и во время Смуты, борьбу различных политических сил за московский престол и народное движение против завоевателей. Особое внимание уделено политическим, общественным и церковным деятелям Смутного времени.

Отечественная война 1812 года

В 2012 г. отмечается 200-летний юбилей одного из самых значимых событий российской истории — Отечественной войны 1812 г. «Гроза двенадцатого года» оставила глубокий след в сознании современников и потомков, во всех сферах жизни нашей страны. По меткому выражению А. И. Герцена, «подлинную историю России открывает собой лишь 1812 год; всё, что было до того, – только предисловие». В коллекцию, посвященную этому событию, вошли многочисленные материалы, отражающие историю Отечественной войны 1812 г. во всем многообразии ее проявлений.

Декабристы в истории России

В 2015 году исполняется 190 лет восстанию декабристов на Сенатской площади в Санкт-Петербурге. В память о нём Президентская библиотека подготовила тематическую коллекцию «Декабристы в истории России». Коллекция включает электронные копии монографий, научно-популярных изданий, сборников документов, хрестоматий, открыток.

Александровская колонна

Александровская колонна – самая высокая колонна в мире, изготовленная из цельного камня, – была установлена в центре Дворцовой площади Санкт-Петербурга в 1834 году по проекту архитектора О. Монферрана. В подборку, посвященную этой юбилейной дате, вошли воспоминания о торжестве 30-го августа (11 сентября) 1834 года, описания и изображения памятника в разные исторические периоды.

Крестьянская реформа 1861 года

19 февраля (3 марта по новому стилю) 1861 года император Александр II подписал "Манифест о Всемилостивейшем даровании крепостным людям прав состояния свободных сельских обывателей" и "Общее Положение о крестьянах, вышедших из крепостной зависимости", в результате чего более двадцати миллионов крепостных крестьян получили свободу. В коллекцию, посвященную этому событию, включены издания, освещающие историю крестьянского вопроса в России, подготовку и реализацию крестьянской реформы, личности реформаторов, а также основные законодательные документы реформы, мемуарные свидетельства современников и публицистические сочинения, касающиеся крестьянского вопроса.

Судебная реформа 1864 года

К 150-летию судебной реформы, которая была призвана обеспечить всем российским подданным суд скорый, правый и милостивый, Президентская библиотека открывает доступ к обширному собранию ранее труднодоступных источников по истории подготовки и проведения преобразования системы судоустройства и судопроизводства в Российской Империи.

Экспедиция русского флота к берегам Северной Америки (1863-1864)

В подборку, посвященную походу в 1860-х гг. двух русских крейсерских эскадр под командованием контр-адмиралов С. С. Лесовского и А. А. Попова к берегам США, вошли отдельные статьи и обзоры, опубликованные в отечественной печати с момента события по настоящее время, а также очерк, изданный Военно-морским историческим фондом США.

Русско-японская война 1904-1905 гг.

Череда бурных событий XX века началась для России с войны далеко на востоке страны. Япония, начавшая войну, блокировала и осадила Порт-Артур – главную базу русских военно-морских сил на Тихом океане. Оборона и последующая сдача этой крепости стала трагическим символом войны. Военные неудачи, наиболее крупными из которых были сухопутное Мукденское сражение и ставший нарицательным Цусимский морской бой, стали одной их причин революции 1905-1907 гг. и вынудили российскую сторону пойти на компромисс при подписании мирного договора. Локальная война обернулась для России потерей всего военного флота и утратой стратегических позиций на Дальнем Востоке.

Первая мировая война (1914-1918)

В 2014-м году отмечается столетие начала Первой мировой войны – войны нового типа, приобретшей черты, ставшие обычными для вооружённых конфликтов XX века. Это и неотделимость тыла от фронта, и тотальная мобилизация экономики на военные нужды, и ведение информационной войны в государственных масштабах. Сухопутные сражения обогатили военную науку тактикой танковых атак. На море впервые была развёрнута подводная война, причём против гражданских судов. Фактически за время войны произошло становление нового вида вооружённых сил – авиации, ставшей полноправным средством ведения вооруженной борьбы. Российская Империя в этой войне входила в военно-политический блок с Францией и Великобританией, которому противостояли Центральные державы – Германия и Австро-Венгрия.

Память о Великой Победе

Великая Отечественная война (1941–1945) является составной частью Второй мировой войны (1939–1945) и одним из ключевых событий российской и мировой истории XX в. Народы Советского Союза и стран антигитлеровской коалиции совместными усилиями смогли преодолеть наступление фашизма. Памяти этой великой победы посвящена коллекция, в которую вошли свидетельства участников Второй мировой и Великой Отечественной войны и отклики на войну их внуков и правнуков, научные исследования и архивные документы, фото- и кинохроника, газеты военного времени и издания агитационно-пропагандистского характера, песни и музыка военных лет.

1945 год: от войны к послевоенному миру

1945 год стал переломным годом в истории XX века: окончание Второй мировой войны положило начало политическим, военно-стратегическим, экономическим и идеологическим изменениям, которые привели к новому мировому устройству. В коллекцию, рассказывающую о событиях этого периода, вошли исследования, архивные материалы, газетная и журнальная хроника, фотографии и карикатуры (всего 117 единиц).

Советско-японская война 1945 г.

Война СССР с Японией завершила крупнейший конфликт XX века – Вторую мировую войну. В соответствии с договоренностями, достигнутыми на Ялтинской конференции, Советский Союз вступил в войну с Японией в августе 1945 г., и менее чем за месяц расположенная в Маньчжурии японская Квантунская армия была разгромлена решительными ударами советских войск. Подписанием Акта о капитуляции Японии 2 сентября 1945 г. ознаменовало окончание Второй мировой войны. В коллекцию, посвященную советско-японской войне, включены исследования, очерки, статьи, газетная и журнальная хроника, а также карикатуры (всего 76 единиц).